headerDoom II: Hell on Earth  was released October 10, 1994 by GT Interactive. Doom2 was developed by id Software. Doom 2 is a first person shooter.

Immediately following the events in Doom, the player once again takes the role of the anonymous space marine who has proven too tough for Hell to contain. After being teleported from Phobos, and subsequently fighting on Deimos which is suspended above Hell, the Marine finds himself back home on Earth, only to find that it too has fallen victim to the hellish invasion, leaving billions of people dead.

Doom II was not dramatically different from its predecessor. There were no major technological developments, graphical improvements, or substantial gameplay changes. The game still consisted of the player negotiating non-linear levels, picking up keys to unlock new areas, and of course shooting down hundreds of monsters. However, due to the larger and more complicated maps with larger groups of monsters, the game had somewhat higher system requirements than the original.

The maps in Doom 2 are smaller so the game ships a larger number of them. In total there are 33 maps including the secret maps.

Game play features some climbing of stairs and some jumping. This is intended to provide more realism of a 3D game world. Limitations of the PC in 2004 restricted the capacity for a free look UI.

Audio in the game is based on the FM design used by the old SoundBlaster series of sound cards.

The game supports the IPX protocol on the LAN as well as a 56K modem for multiplayer.

The game display features the amount of ammo remaining and the health of the player. There is also an animated graphic of the player’s face that becomes more like hamburger as the health declines.


Doom 2 maps are relatively short due to the limitations of old computers of the period. There is no jumping but the maps are 3D with stairs etc. There are 30 maps with 2 additional secret maps.

  1. Entryway
  2. Underhalls
  3. The Gauntlet
  4. The Focus
  5. The Waste Tunnels
  6. The Crusher
  7. Dead Simple
  8. Tricks & Traps
  9. The Pit
  10. Refueling Base
  11. Circle of Death
  12. The Factory
  13. Downtown
  14. The Inmost Dens
  15. Industrial Zone (2 exits)
  16. Suburbs
  17. Tenements
  18. The Courtyard
  19. The Citadel
  20. Gotcha!
  21. Nirvana
  22. The Catacombs
  23. Barrels O’ Fun
  24. The Chasm
  25. Bloodfalls
  26. The Abandoned Mines
  27. Monster Condo
  28. The Spirit World
  29. The Living End
  30. The Living End
  31. Icon of Sin
  32. Wolfenstein (secret, 2 exits)
  33. Grosse (secret)

The Industrial Zone map has 2 exits. One leads to the Suburbs and the other leads to Wolfenstein. Wolfenstein also has 2 exits, one leads to Suburbs and the other leads to Grosse. The remaining maps continue in the usual order


When Doom 3 BFG was released, Doom II offered the expansion No Rest for the Living by Nerve. The expansion was also published on the XBLA and PS3 versions of Doom II. The expansion has many more demons as modern systems are far more capable.

  1. The Earth Base
  2. The Pain Labs
  3. Canyon of the Dead
  4. Hell Mountain
  5. Vivisection
  6. Inferno of Blood
  7. Baron’s Banquet
  8. Tomb of Malevolence
  9. March of the Demons


Back in 1994, when Doom II was first released, gamers were using an Intel 486 processor with 8 MB of RAM and Windows 3.11 for workgroups. VESA VGA cards of the period typically had 1 MB of memory. The Pentium MMX-200 machine with Windows 95C come with the new PCI slots which offered more bandwidth than the old ISA slots could manage. PCI quickly was overloaded and AGP was developed to isolate the video card.

error: Content is protected !!